The Last Bus Ride

I can’t remember the exact date late last year but I can still remember the time when I got off the taxi one night and I saw you at the bus station standing beside the street vendor buying some candies. I went beside you and asked how you are doing. You were surprised and answered you’re good and on the way home. I grabbed a stick of cigarette and smoked. Then you were just holding your phone texting. You weren’t paying attention to what I was saying. You must be busy then. I went inside the bus and reserved a seat for you. After a while, you got into the bus and sat beside me. We didn’t have too much time to talk as I was so sleepy after a long day at work and you were talking to someone over the phone discussing how you guys will meet the next day; and if I heard it right, you will be going to a place to help the Typhoon Yolanda victims. It was past midnight but you’ll meet your friends at five in the morning. I tried to be half awake so I could pay for our ride going to Bulacan. Then I fell asleep. You woke me up when you reached your destination bidding goodbye and saying “Ingat ka pauwi” (take care going home). And that was the last time I saw you alive.

Don, 1979-2014

You had shown us how strong you were. Until your last breath, you still made sure that you will leave your family without difficulty for your life insurance and your funeral. I planned to visit you in the hospital yesterday but God did not prolong your pain anymore. Perhaps it’s also His way for me not to see you in pain. Thank you for being a brother. Goodbye my friend, until we meet again.

Leave a Reply

