Sleep Paralysis

Yesterday, I watched the season finale of American Horror Story: Coven where the witches had to perform the Seven Wonders where the winner will become the next Supreme. One of the Seven Wonders performed was the “going to hell” test where Misty Day was stucked and never went back to life. It happened to me! Well, sort of.

Just a few minutes after falling asleep, I experienced sleep paralysis. Sleep paralysis is a phenomenon in which people, either when falling asleep or wakening, temporarily experience an inability to move (being paralyzed). Wikipedia.

All I can remember was, in my dream, I was on the floor and I couldn’t move my body, I couldn’t utter a single word. I was paralyzed. Slowly I was getting half awake and I still couldn’t move nor talk. I felt that my body was very weak. I remember my friend telling me to try very hard to move my fingers if I experience that, and so I did. I was trying to use the nails of my right hand in pinching the index and middle fingers of my left hand. I can feel it but not the pain. Until I was able to open my right eye, and then the left, and closed them again; and I slowly moved my body while keeping my eyes closed. I continued moving and slowly opened my eyes.

I grabbed my phone and checked the time. Then I tweeted my experience for the sake of documenting it to remind myself that I have experienced it again. Yes, it wasn’t the first time. If my memory serves me right, it’s my fifth time I was sleep paralyzed.

Leave a Reply

