Should I buy the Nokia Lumia 1020 now?

I currently have an iPhone 5 and am planning to buy a 5S in the next couple of months. But over the weekend, I stumbled upon the link in GSMArena showcasing the camera comparison between the current flagship smartphones of the top manufacturers:

  • iPhone 5S
  • Samsung Galaxy Note 3
  • Sony Xperia Z1
  • LG G2
  • HTC One
  • Nokia Lumia 1020

On paper, there’s no doubt that the Nokia Lumia 1020 is second to none. It sports a 41-megapixel camera and the manual settings of a DSLR/point-and-shoot camera. I’ve also checked out some sites posting amazing photography using the Lumia 1020 and I am sold! I immediately contacted one of the online stores to inquire and they are offering me a low price of $590.90 bundled with a Camera Grip.

But this morning, I’ve seen some posts in Google+ sharing @evleaks’ tweet about Nokia’s new devices. I’m worried that Nokia might update the Lumia 1020 in just a few months.

I know the phone is amazing and has its rights to be called and the “best camera phone” in the world to date. I can actually deal with the current specs. I’m just concerned with the slow transition from shoot-save-shoot which might be addressed by the successor. If Nokia could only guarantee that it will update the firmware/camera software then I wouldn’t be having second thoughts in buying now.

What are your thoughts?

20131126-085703.jpg

2 thoughts on “Should I buy the Nokia Lumia 1020 now?

  1. I have a Lumia 1020 and love the camera. That being said, there are definitely not as many game apps as the iOS nor are there as many productivity apps, but of what there is, they are fairly high quality.

    If you just want a great camera phone, yes, get it. But the sting from going from iPhone to WP 8 is noticeable.

    I love my phone, btw.

    1. Thanks for responding!
      I’m not letting go of my iPhone. Aside from photography, I’m also addicted to Apple’s ecosystem. I’ve also spent nearly $100 on the apps alone.

Leave a Reply

